top of page

New Season


I’m in a time of transition. I graduated last year and recently moved to a new state. Going from a kid to an adult and living in a completely new place is daunting. I’m in unexplored territory. I have my whole future ahead of me but I have no idea how to reach it. Where do I go from here?

I know that many of you have echoed these thoughts in your own minds. Maybe you are going from middle school to high school, moving to a new place, or graduating. Whatever the circumstance, you are in a season of transition. Just like me. I don’t have the answers to your questions, but I have learned three things that are helping me. I hope that they help you too.

1. Pray. I think that we underestimate the power of prayer. It’s so simple and the most important advice that I can give you. You may not know what the future holds, but Jesus does. Just tell him how you are feeling at this moment. Tell him your fears, your dreams, and ask him for wisdom. “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” James 1:5.

2. Don’t let the joys of your old life stop you from experiencing the joys of your new life. Sometimes I can get caught up in all the ways that my old home is better. I realized that every time I did that I was stealing away some of the joy that I could have here. My new home is very different than what I’m used to. But different doesn’t have to mean worse. There are tons of beautiful hiking spots where I live now and I basically live in a forest! I will always treasure my hometown and the memories that I have there, but I will also recognize the beauty in my new home. As you come to a new season in your life, take some time to cherish your old life and embrace the joys that will come with your new situation.

3. Read God's word. "To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, "If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free." John 8:31-32. During times of transition, it can be easy to believe lies. We may believe the lie that God doesn't care about what happens in your life (read Psalm 139, if you feel this way). You may believe that you are less valuable than your friends who have their next steps figured out (Read Galatians 6:4 NLT). The Bible provides wisdom and truth that erases those lies from your mind and heart. I'm currently reading Proverbs which focuses on wisdom. The next steps in my life will influence my future, so I need all the help that I can get to make wise choices!

Sometimes it can feel like you are alone in this new season. Please remember that you are never alone. Deuteronomy 31:8 says, “The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” And Isaiah 41:10 says, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

All seasons of life, just like in nature, are important. Where would we be without the rest of winter or the new life of spring? This is an important part of your story that can challenge you and help you to grow. I pray that you pursue God in this time and allow him to shape you into the person he created you to be.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Hi, my name is Olivia! I created this website to encourage young girls to pursue a lasting relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ...

About the Author
Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Beautiful You
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page