top of page

The Strength to be Content

Have you ever thought about things in your life that you want to change because you think that your life would be better without them? A few examples would be: My life would be so much better if my boss wasn't so mean. I would be so much happier is so-and-so wasn't so prideful. I wouldn't be so stressed if my finances weren't as they are. I would be better off if this situation didn't happen.

Yes, there are things in this life that we would all rather do without. Losing loved ones, dealing with rude people, family issues, friend problems, financial struggles, bad circumstances, ect. The thing about these problems is that we can't change them. I have no control over the way others act. I have no control over loved ones passing away. I have no control over some situations.

So what do I do? If I can't change any of these things do I just sit around and allow my happiness and joy in life just be squashed by them? Well, that is something that you could allow to happen, but you don't have to. You don't have to let circumstances run your life. You can't change how people treat you, but you can change how you treat them. You can't change how your boss acts, but you can change how you react. You can't change some circumstances, but you can change how much you let them control you.

I am not going to say, "Just suck it up and move on." because I know that it is not always that easy. To get through things in your life needs constant prayer and trust in God. It is not easy, but it is possible.

In church last week we were talking about thankfulness and contentment. We read in Philippians 4:12 which says, "I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want." Even in the hardest times in Paul's life he could be content. Whether he was in prison, starving, without a permanent home, and any other circumstance he found himself in he was. content How? Well, if you read the verse directly after that is says,"I can do all things through him who gives me strength." Philippians 4:13. God gave Paul the strength to be content.

I do realize that life is not always easy and that feeling content may seam to be something that you may never feel. If you rely on your own strength, that may be true. But if you rely on God to give you the strength to be content, than he will not disappoint you. It is hard to see how God could do that. How could he help you feel content when you are having such a hard time? He could help you to find hope in the midst of struggle. To comfort you while you are in pain. He could show you hidden blessings within your circumstance. He could change your heart towards people in your life that you struggle with. He may even ask you to just "...Be still and know that I am God..." Psalm 46:10. He may decide to give you peace through you trusting in him, despite what the outcome may be.

What we can do is ask him to give us wisdom in all we do, for him to give us peace even in chaos, and we can work on learning how to trust him in everything. We can allow him to change our hearts towards people who frustrate us. We can ask him to give us wisdom in our difficult situations. We can ask him to help us find joy even in depressing times. "Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you." Mathew 7:7. Remember that you are not going through this alone. God is with you and he will help and strengthen you. "So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand." Isaiah 41:10

Definition of content: (adjective) In a state of peaceful happiness. (noun) A state of satisfaction.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Hi, my name is Olivia! I created this website to encourage young girls to pursue a lasting relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ...

About the Author
Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Beautiful You
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page